Tuff tray ideas

I bought a tuff tray and stand a couple of years ago as S was getting too tall for her water table. I thought I’d try something new and try and incorporate sensory play, learning and fun all together. Since we have moved I’ve bought a new tray and stand as it had all rusted after being left out in all weather for over 2 years!

Tuff trays can be bought separately or on amazon they come as a package deal. The tray, the stand and the mat. I didn’t bother buying a mat.

The tray can be used on the floor for babies/toddlers and older children or on the stand, which changes to three different heights.

Babies and children learn through play, especially when it is unstructured. When they are free to explore and experiment wonderful things happen.They make their own discoveries using their senses which not only helps brain development but also boosts self confidence and happiness.

Messy play with some children with autism or sensory processing disorder can be difficult. They may not like the textures of certain things but I would just try different things until they want to play with it. My daughter used to hate anything that would get her ‘dirty’ and still now if we are playing with paint or whatever she always says ‘wash my hands’. It took time for her to want to touch paint but she did in the end. I just kept trying and she can tolerate it now. Obviously if something is distressing your child, take it away until they are ready. It could be a week, month or a year later but it’s good to keep trying things as their senses change that often.

Here are some of our activities that I have made for my daughter.

Farm yard made from cereal

Water play with some cups and scallop shells

Porridge oats and cups (this is her favourites the moment)

Peppa Pig playground with lentils, rice and water beads. This was extremely messy. I wouldn’t mix the water beads with the lentils again as it just made them stick to everything! But she loved it!!!

I bought ours from amazon and it came within a couple of days.

CrazyGadget® Children Kids Tuff Spot with Stand Colour Mixing Tray Large Plastic for Playing Toy Sand Pool Pit Water Game Animal Figures etc. – MADE IN UK (Dark Blue) https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B018MQE4S2/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_Xya8Ab8QTYFPE

Leave a comment